Opinion

Nomama Xesibe fetches water for her household in Mfuleni. Photo by Masixole Feni.Mayor de Lille, here's your evidence. It's time for action.

When Cape Town Mayor Patricia de Lille tabled the 2015/2016 draft budget last week, she said, “In my years as Mayor, not once has any substantive proof to counter our evidence of pro-poor spending ever been offered.”

Mar 31, 2015
Axolile Notywala
Statue of Rhodes covered with tape on UCT. Since this photo was taken, the statue has been boarded up while the process to have it removed continues. Photo by Masixole Feni.Rhodes and the politics of pain

A statue that appears to commemorate racism and imperialism occupies a uniquely privileged position on the university campus, causing evident pain to some students, professors and staff.

Mar 31, 2015
Jeremy Seekings and Nicoli Nattrass
Terry Bell.Eskom: a wake-up call to government and unions

Deputy president Cyril Ramaphosa persists in referring to the mess that is Eskom as “a challenge”. He did so in his Q&A session in parliament last week. But the situation at Eskom is perhaps the greatest crisis ever to face our fragile, non-racist democracy, especially given the global economic climate.

Mar 23, 2015
Terry Bell
Eastern Cape housing delivery protest. Photo by Mimosa Delgaro.By ignoring petitions, government encourages violent protest

The Eastern Cape government has failed to even acknowledge a petition from a group of housing project beneficiaries. What options does this leave aggrieved citizens, asks Mimosa Delgaro?

Mar 20, 2015
Mimosa Delgaro
Photo by Masixole Feni.This campaign will change the way our schools are run

This year, Equal Education is running a campaign on School Governing Board (SGB) Elections in South African public schools. Functional, inclusive SGBs are a key component of fixing schools, writes Raphael Chaskalson.

Mar 19, 2015
Raphael Chaskalson
Image sourced from FBC Jax Watchdogs websiteA stealthy attempt at censorship

Freedom of speech is a fundamental right recognised in our constitution. But that doesn’t mean everyone has to allow that speech anywhere you want to make it.

Mar 18, 2015
Kevin Charleston
Treachery and the quest for truth: review of Jacob Dlamini's Askari

Not wishing to sound derivative I was left grasping for fresh superlatives when I finished reading Askari. Earlier reviewers had already hailed this latest offering by Jacob Dlamini in terms with which I wholly agreed.

Mar 16, 2015
Terry Bell
Police and Philippi High School students confront each other. Photo by Daneel Knoetze.Philippi students speak out about police showdown

On 6 March there was a violent stand-off between students from Philippi High School and the police in the Cape Town CBD. GroundUp reported this. Here is a statement issued by the students on the events of that day.

Mar 11, 2015
Philippi High School Students
A child draws water in Liphalale, Mpumalanga. Photo by Mujahid Safodien.Polluters let off the hook

South Africans shouldn’t hold their breath as polluters are let off the hook. Decisions of the Department of Environmental Affairs (DEA) on Tuesday 24 February 2015 marked a disappointing setback in the battle for improved air quality in South Africa.

Mar 9, 2015
Nicole Löser
Terry Bell.Cosatu and Vavi: the Aurora factor

Infighting, bickering and the pursuit of power and patronage have largely paralysed Cosatu in recent years. That, broadly, is the view of the labour federation’s embattled general secretary, Zwelinzima Vavi and of Jay Naidoo, Cosatu’s first general secretary.

Mar 9, 2015
Terry Bell

Pages